The Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Award 2011

Tonight we celebrated the 6th year of the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Award 2011, in the company of Seamus Heaney and President Higgins. There was a public vote and some 33,000 Irish readers cast their votes for the favorite titles. Nobel Laureate Seamus Heaney was presented with the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award by President Michael D. Higgins…………

If you were on Twitter, then you would have been kept in the loop with the hashtag #BGEIBA.

When Caitlin Moran won she tweeted, ‘Just won the Irish Book Award and described myself as “Just a sweaty woman in a dress” in front of Seamus Heaney and the Irish President.’ I like her!

It was broadcast on RTE One Thurs 24th 10.45pm. If you missed it, you can watch it here.

Irish Book Awards 2011 from Another Avenue on Vimeo.

The Hughes & Hughes Irish Novel of the Year:
 Mistaken by Neil Jordan (John Murray)

RTÉ Radio 1’s The John Murray Show Listeners’ Choice Award:
How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran (Ebury)

The Ireland AM Irish Crime Fiction Book of the Year:
Bloodland by Alan Glynn (Faber)

The Argosy Irish Non-Fiction Book of the Year:
Easy Meals by Rachel Allen (Collins)

Eason Irish Popular Fiction Book of the Year:
All For You by Sheila O’Flanagan (Headline)

Irish Sports Book of the Year:
Inside the Peloton by Nicolas Roche (Transworld Ireland)

Bord Gáis Energy Irish Bookshop of the Year:
Crannóg Bookshop, Cavan town

Sunday Independent Best Irish Newcomer of the Year:
Solace by Belinda McKeon (Picador)

International Education Services Best Irish Published Book of the Year:
Connemara: A Little Gaelic Kingdom by Tim Robinson (Penguin Ireland)

Specsavers Irish Children’s Book of the Year:
The Lonely Beast by Chris Judge (Andersen Press)

The Real Rebecca by Anna Carey (O’Brien)

 Nominee – Sinead Moriarity and The Queen of Twitter and writer -Maria Duffy
MC – Claire Byrne
Nominee – Alan Early

 Michael d and Seamus Heaney

Nominee – Denise Deegan

The Crowds pre-show

Winner – Nicolas Roche  and Chiara at the awards

WInner – Crannog Bookshop

Table set up

Nominee – The Gutter Book Shop
If you enjoyed my blog, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the right hand sidebar. And sure throw us an aould vote here (just one click).

Thanks and Reki Blessings for stopping by! The fact that anyone would be interested in what I have to say….well it still shocks me. 🙂

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Ahahahahahahahaha Xavier you are gas! You are a true blog reader, as you remember my coffee and laptop stories.

    I woudl love to be there next year, in some shap or form.

    Hey, you want to know something funny….in the book I am writing I have a character named, Xavier. After you. She is a girl, cool, wants to be a doctor and she is gret fun to write! So thank you!


  2. Thank you for writing this Michelle. I have added some of these books to my Christmas presents wish list. Maybe it will be Michelle up there next year with Starbucks coffee in one hand and dodgy laptop in the other! 🙂


  3. Hi Louise,

    It was fun, fun, fun writing this up!



  4. 120 Socks says:

    Looks like a fab night – thanks for the post and pics:)


  5. Hi Finn,

    I know, and I loved Alan Early's book, and of course Sarah Webb. There is always next year.



  6. Anonymous says:

    I was hoping that Denise Deegan woudl win, I loved your interview with her. Next year, eh?



Care to comment?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s